Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript
12

Autumn Studio Notes

How my creative space inspires....
12

Hello folks, this is the start of a new series where I consider how my creative space inspires my work. I am a mixed media artist based on the Isle of Arran, off the west coast of Scotland. The changing weather patterns play a vital role in our everyday lives as we have a life line ferry service but no airport. I am a seasonal and environmental artist so plugging into small shifts in the seasons is my focus. In this new series I thought I would unpack some of the elements that make up my wee studio space and reflect on just how they inspire me.

Seasonal Creativity is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

Autumn is the perfect place to start as, by definition, it is a transition between the warmer months and the colder ones to come. Therefore a transitional approach is perfect for my studio space. I used to have the whole front of the house which is glazed but as I shift towards part time work I have moved into one small corner as that feels like a better fit. In time, I may move again as there is talk of an outside studio similar to what I had some years ago but set up differently. More on that if talking leads to action!

The key thing with my current space is that it is intimate. I have everything to hand that I need and this is where I do my best creative thinking. I also have a small box room upstairs which is my sewing space away from the ebb and flow of family noise. I retreat there often but always with a clear idea of what I am going to do when I get there. My studio space in this film is where my creative ideas are birthed and new collections begin to move from idea to paper and beyond.

I have focused the wee film on the unit directly behind my desk as this is my version of a moodboard, albeit in three dimensional form. So let’s break this down -

Natural finds are key to my work and I select with great care as it is easy to get overwhelmed. I press and dry my finds to enable them to last longer but I also include fresh finds that I then put in my compost once they are over. I can’t imagine sketching a bramble branch without having it right in front of me. In time, I will be sharing my field studio bag as I am often found in wee corners of the island sketching and painting.

Sketchbooks are really important in my world as they are the creative fodder that begins the process of releasing an idea. I see the world in fantastic technicolour and you will see that feature in my work a lot. My sketchbooks are the place that begins.

Bowls are a complete passion of mine and so useful for displaying natural finds. I make my own fibre and paper bowls and there are always a couple each year that I decide not to sell as they have found their natural home in my studio.

Reference books are critical. Not in the film but right next to my chair is a small bookcase filled with my seasonal reference books. I am currently loving using the book ‘Everyday Folklore’ by Liza Frank and I am getting well and truly lost in ‘The Lore of the Forest’ by Alexander Porteous.

Alongside the reference books are notebooks, many of which I produce myself via my Amazon author page. I have a book for each creative project and it is rare that it is not completely filled. I note my aspirations, my detailed time sensitive plans and my reflections making them really useful books to return to. I am a fan of the concept of a continuous artist where one piece or even collection suggests what is to come….My notebooks help me do that along with my sketchbooks.

If you know my work you will know my love of art journaling and I have an overhead cupboard packed full of them. In my subscription Book Arts space here on Substack we are having a wee go at a small page this season before we even begin our autumn book art. I firmly believe that dedicated investment in creative processes makes for our best work.

My basket of dried flowers and my draws and draws of pressed flowers are a connection with my days spent running my own flower farm and working on weddings. You will see both pressed and dried flowers feature a great deal in my work and in my garden I grow flowers specifically for pressing and drying. You might even see wee handmade smudge sticks in the film and I use these to cleanse my space to support new thinking.

Lastly, for this studio notes piece, is my references to ritual. I love my studio rituals but perhaps the two that ground me the most are worth a mention. You might have spotted the three little pigs. I am a mum of four grown up children that I once home schooled and we made a theatre from recycled boxes so we could display the three little pigs and the big bad wolf. I have kept hold of this wee family and Mr wolf as a reminder that I am first and foremost, a mother. The other spot might be the tiny Buddhas. I took Refuge into the Buddhist faith many years ago and trained as a meditation facilitator. It is my faith that grounds my soul.

So, it is a start and a wee peek into my creative space. I will take a different part of my ‘spaces’ with each season. If I might offer one piece of gentle advice…..bring the changing seasons into your inside space and let these gathered elements begin to work their own magic.

Until next time.

Fiona x

Discussion about this podcast